Brand Spankin’ New: April 2015

Here are some new releases coming this month that piqued my interests, whether it be premise or marketed perceived awesome character (which may not be true once I read the book, but hey won’t know ’til I try it).

I don’t really read imports, but there are several light novels on my lists because I’ve seen the anime and the complex ideas behind them are pretty neat, though they may not be “new,” they are new in the sense that it’s the first English translation.

Share your April new books obsessions in the comments below.

In no particular order:

Log HorizonLog Horizon, Vol. 1:  The Beginning of Another World  by Mamare Touno; Illustrations by Kazuhiro Hara

Expected Release Date:  April 21st, 2015

Note:  This is not the manga.  This is the light novel translation. 

Summary:  When thirty thousand Japanese gamers are suddenly trapped in the online game world of “Elder Tale,” a realm of swords and sorcery–that was, up until yesterday, very much a fantasy–is now their cold, hard reality. Severed from their everyday lives, they’re faced with fighting monsters, eating food with no flavor, and being unable to die?! Amid the chaos in “Elder Tale” Akihabara, veteran gamer Shiroe locates his old friend Naotsugu and teams up with the beautiful female assassin Akatsuki. Together they embark on an adventure to change the world as they know it!

Comments: If this light novel – Japanese term for YA and also categorized this way because of its publishing method… stories are typically serialized in a monthly magazine first – is anything like it’s anime adaption… it’d be a great one to pick up.  The world of gaming is perfectly described and reflects how socializing in the gaming world has its own etiquette and terms… plus with the high stakes (a huge plot reveal but there are high stakes) … I would think this would be an interesting read.  The only hesitation:  lost in translation… you know, two languages can never be perfectly translated.

Rook

Rook by Sharon Cameron

Expected Release Date: April 28th, 2015

Summary:  History has a way of repeating itself. In the Sunken City that was once Paris, all who oppose the new revolution are being put to the blade. Except for those who disappear from their prison cells, a red-tipped rook feather left in their place. Is the mysterious Red Rook a savior of the innocent or a criminal?  Meanwhile, across the sea in the Commonwealth, Sophia Bellamy’s arranged marriage to the wealthy René Hasard is the last chance to save her family from ruin. But when the search for the Red Rook comes straight to her doorstep, Sophia discovers that her fiancé is not all he seems. Which is only fair, because neither is she.  As the Red Rook grows bolder and the stakes grow higher, Sophia and René find themselves locked in a tantalizing game of cat and mouse. 

Comments:  I enjoyed Sharon Cameron’s Dark Unwinding… maybe this one too? Reservations:  Cat and mouse between whom?  This sounds like a Mr. & Mrs. Smith setting… maybe. 

Devil Is a Part TimerThe Devil is a Part Timer , Vol. 1 by Satoshi Wagahara

Expected Release Date:  April 21st, 2015

Note:  Light Novel

Summary: After being soundly thrashed by the hero Emilia, the Devil King and his general beat a hasty retreat to a parallel universe…only to land plop in the middle of bustling, modern-day Tokyo! Lacking the magic necessary to return home, the two are forced to assume human identities and live average human lives until they can find a better solution. And to make ends meet, Satan finds gainful employment at a nearby fast food joint! With his devilish mind set on working his way up the management food chain, what will become of his thirst for conquest?!

Comments:  Yes, it’s as ridiculous as it sounds.  In a good way.  Who cares about good versus evil when you are stuck working in a minimum wage, thankless job.  Hilarity ensues as suddenly it’s now illegal to kill the demons as they are now considered human (in our world context) and heroes have to abide by the law.  Reservations: Japanese humor may slightly be different or take some adjustment to get use to.

Girl at Midnight

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Expected Release Date:  April 28th, 2015

Summary:  Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.  Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.  Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.  But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Comments:  Ooooh… that premise is interesting.  Reservations:  they compare this to like Daughter of Smoke and Bones meets The Mortal Instruments… double whammy for uh oh for me.  I greatly enjoyed Daughter…. thus high standards… and did not like Mortal much… so er… ah… hmmm…

99 Days99 Days by Katie Cotugno

Expected Release Date:  April 21st, 2015

Summary:  Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done. Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”  Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

Comments:  Angst?  Check.  Love triangle?  Check. THEN WHY?  Color me curious… but I kind wanna know what she did that was so bad.  If it’s lame… yes I’d be burning with rage and annoyance… but have to have curiosity before I can kill the cat.

One response to “Brand Spankin’ New: April 2015

  1. Pingback: News: Light Novel Articles (April 2015) | English Light Novels·

Leave a comment