Book to Movie: The 5th Wave

Well… I thought I wrote a review for this book.  But I guess I didn’t.  It will come soon then.  However I wanted to share with you all today what I just found out (because of a hole I fell in apparently).  Did you know there’s a movie for Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave?  Yes.   Slated for 2016.  If you already knew, good!  You are more up to date than I am.  Well, here’s…

The Trailer:

Anticipated Release Date:  January 2016

Movie Poster:

Fifth Wave Movie

The Leads: (Pictures of actors were pulled from a basic Google search.

Chloe Grace Moretz as Cassie

Alex Roe as Evan

Alex Roe as Evan

Nick Robinson as Ben

Nick Robinson as Ben

Hit or Miss:  I was not a super fan of the book.  Do not get me wrong.  I remember liking the book, however – I was in no rush to get the sequel.  At the time, I think I was all dystopian-ed out.  The influx of dystopian YA novels flooding the market was too insane and I was bunrt out.  So while I did enjoy the book, the book doesn’t offer any thing different from the other YA novels and this is why I think this movie will do well but also not be a blockbuster hit like (*sighs*  I know… I hate to say it but I will because everyone will make the comparisons) The Hunger Games movies.  Sony is already toting it like the Katniss movies.  Though The 5th Wave is very much different with aliens involved.  Recently, I feel like there hasn’t really been many movies targeted towards the young adult area with action in mind (don’t quote me, I’ve been living in a hole recently)… and by that I mean, movies featuring young adults for young adult audience in mind… well yeah, you have Mockingjay Part II (my hole isn’t that deep…) but this movie will be riding on the coat tails of Mockingjay in January, giving audiences enough time to break away from their Katniss obssessions to start a new obsession in The 5th Wave.  Anyway – what I mean to say: with the Hunger Games  movies over and no other YA book to movie available at this time.  The 5th Wave will probably be successful though maybe not in terms of The Hunger Games.

Fifth WaveThe Book:  The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

Book Release Date:  May 7th, 2013

Summary:  After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.  Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.  Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

3 responses to “Book to Movie: The 5th Wave

  1. I am not a huge fan of dystopia, but The 5th Wave was actually a total exception for me. I loved it. I don’t think the movie will do that well though. The 5th Wave is pretty brutal, and The Infinite Sea even more so. In the interest of keeping it suitable for tweens, I doubt producers would want the movies to reflect that.

  2. I’ve picked up this book once already and thought it was far too similar to The Host by Stephanie Meyer. But with the movie coming out, I want to give the book another try. To be honest, I think I only made it into the first chapter, maybe the second. Thanks for your review, fingers crossed the second time around goes better!

    • The book was good. I’d say stick with it past the first few chapters and then if you aren’t feeling it you can let it go. The only similarity THE HOST has is the human-like aliens – 5TH WAVE, I felt more invested because of the arcing plot; whereas THE HOST was more romantic in nature. THE 5TH WAVE is more along the lines of INDEPENDENCE DAY – the movie with Will Smith in it, but with young adults and a more planned out eradication of the human race (<not a spoiler, it's in the summary!). Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a comment