Book Spotlight: A Silent Voice (Manga)

This manga series has feels, it has personal characters, and it’s pulls you in from the start.

Read the synopsis, and get the book now!

A Silent Voice by Yoshitoki Oima

Publisher:  Kodansha Comics (US)

Release Date:  May 2015

This is a series and there are 7 volumes.

Synopsis:   Shoya is a bully. When Shoko, a girl who can’t hear, enters his elementary school class, she becomes their favorite target, and Shoya and his friends goad each other into devising new tortures for her. But the children’s cruelty goes too far. Shoko is forced to leave the school, and Shoya ends up shouldering all the blame. Six years later, the two meet again. Can Shoya make up for his  past mistakes, or is it too late?

Comments:  Recently, I’ve been reading more and more mangas.  I do not typically feature book reviews on mangas and I rarely post about them.  Why?  Because books in the young adult area are already countless and many.   Add in manga, light novels, and other types of material into this blog would be over kill for me.  It’s hard enough as it is for me to give attention to this site… I’m sorry – I know I’ve been neglecting this blog.

However, I would like to share those outside of young adult novels with you from time to time and this time it’s A Silent Voice by Yoshitoki Oima.  A graphic novel or manga, which ever term you want to use… you should read.  The graphic novel deals with bullying and it’s effects and consequences.  It deals with moving on and accepting what’s happened.  It’s heavy topic is covered really well and really moving.  I won’t write a review here as it will sounds like other countless reviews already… Just know you need to read this.

If you need a sample… read it at Amazon.  Click on the book cover… Of course, the pages they choose to sample are pretty powerful.   But it’s why I enjoy this series.  What are you doing?  Read it now!

Leave a comment