Book Spotlight: May Picks

Here is my May picks for new releases coming out May 2015 that I really REALLY want to read. What are yours?!

Thor

Thor Volume 1: Goddess of Thunder by Jason Aaron; Illustrated by Russell Dauterman

Release Date:  May 26th, 2015

Synopsis:  The great hammer MJOLNIR lies on the moon, unable to be lifted by anyone in all the heavens! Even THOR! Something dark has befallen the God of Thunder, leaving him weakened and for the first time in forever… UNWORTHY! But when Frost Giants invade the Earth, the hammer will be lifted and an all-new Thor will arise! A Thor unlike any we’ve ever seen before! Who is this new GODDESS OF THUNDER? Not even Odin knows! JASON AARON teams with hot up-and-coming artist RUSSELL DAUTERMAN (CYCLOPS) to create a bold new chapter in the storied history of Thor! (issues #1-5).

Comments:  I have been reading a lot of graphic novels and Marvel Comics recently… I had a lot of catching up to do and is still catching up.  But THIS!  YES!  WHY NOT!  Why not have a female Thor?!  Yes, there are folks out there boohooing about how Thor is a man and blah blah blah.  The title of Thor can also be passed.  I have not read this… and I want to.  I was disappointed in the revamped Ms. Marvel.  I hope it’d be different with this one.

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny HanPS I Still Love You

Release Date:  May 26th, 2015

Synopsis:  Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.  When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

Comments:  Give it to me!  I dislike romances.  Well I prefer not to read them because they get too angsty and too lovey dovey and I just don’t care about the couple anymore after a given point.  But for some reason or another I really really enjoyed the first book to this book, To All the Boys I Loved Before  … I ate up all the cotton candy and candy corn… devoured the fluffyness and corniness of the first book and I hope it’d be the same for this one.  If you have not read the first book – READ IT NOW.  Go and eat that cotton candy and then wait anxiously for this book like me.

Undertow

Undertow by Michael Buckley

Release Date:  May 5th, 2015

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Lyric Walker’s life is forever changed when she witnesses the arrival of 30,000 Alpha, a five-nation race of ocean-dwelling warriors, on her beach in Coney Island. The world’s initial wonder and awe over the Alpha quickly turns ugly and paranoid and violent, and Lyric’s small town transforms into a military zone with humans on one side and Alpha on the other. When Lyric is recruited to help the crown prince, a boy named Fathom, assimilate, she begins to fall for him. But their love is a dangerous one, and there are forces on both sides working to keep them apart. Only, what if the Alpha are not actually the enemy? What if they are in fact humanity’s only hope of survival? Because the real enemy is coming. And it’s more terrifying than anything the world has ever seen.

Comments:  I hope the love doesn’t take precedence over the seemingly awesome other plot.  But if done right, I’m all up for the romance plot also.  It’s promising me “action, suspense, and romance” and I hope it delivers because I’ve been anticipating this book for a while… of course with reservations.  Always with reservations.

Illusionarium

Illusionarium by Heather Dixon

Release Date: May 19th, 2015

Synopsis:  What if the world holds more dangers—and more wonders—than we have ever known? And what if there is more than one world? From Heather Dixon, author of the acclaimed Entwined, comes a brilliantly conceived adventure that sweeps us from the inner workings of our souls to the far reaches of our imaginations.  Jonathan is perfectly ordinary. But then—as every good adventure begins—the king swoops into port, and Jonathan and his father are enlisted to find the cure to a deadly plague. Jonathan discovers that he’s a prodigy at working with a new chemical called fantillium, which creates shared hallucinations—or illusions. And just like that, Jonathan is knocked off his path.

Comment:  I keep seeing Ms. Dixon’s books… maybe I should just sit down and read one.  This one appeals to me the most.  Please, please, please do not drown me in petty romances.

The Novice by Taran Matharu Novice

Release Date:  May 5th, 2015

Synopsis:  When blacksmith apprentice Fletcher discovers that he has the ability to summon demons from another world, he travels to Adept Military Academy. There the gifted are trained in the art of summoning. Fletcher is put through grueling training as a battlemage to fight in the Hominum Empire’s war against orcs. He must tread carefully while training alongside children of powerful nobles. The power hungry, those seeking alliances, and the fear of betrayal surround him. Fletcher finds himself caught in the middle of powerful forces, with only his demon Ignatius for help.

Comment:  I need a good YA fantasy.  Haven’t found one recently.  Hopefully this one fills the void.

Leave a Reply

