Book VERSUS Movie!: The Maze Runner

I just watched The Maze Runner movie yesterday!  Finally… well actually surprisingly.  I don’t really watch movies… I find it hard to sit down and enjoy a movie… and I can’t explain why because I can sit and waste time on the internet reading about the most random things or spend hours on Youtube, watching random things… So I don’t know why I have an aversion to movies…

Anyone else like this?  Hmmm, maybe it’s just me cause I’m weird.

Anyway, back to the real topic at hand.

Maze Runner Movie

I have to say… The Maze Runner was one of those books I read and thought:  “Okay.  I’m intrigued.  Will have to read the sequels.” And then, I haven’t picked up the sequels since.  During the time of my reading, I was interested, but not enough to continue the series (due to the endless numbers of books that are published each year).  I did not love nor hate the book.  I read the book years ago when it was first published and yesterday when I watched the movie… I was intrigued again by the premise.  I’m not sure how well the movie did when it first was released in theatres, but I don’t think it bombed.  So maybe there is hope for a sequel movie.

Like the book, I felt the movie was okay.  The special effects were really nice and the actors were all decent enough for me to get invested in the story.  Of course, like the book, the most memorable character for me was Chuck.

Book or movie?  That’s the question here.  If I had to pick… probably… the movie.  (I will ignore all the gasps.)  The movie was faster paced and with its cast, quickly built up the trapped and desolate atmosphere the consumers (readers and viewers) were suppose to feel.  Compared to the book, it achieved this sense in a much quicker and still believable fashion.  The book had a slow start with the whole getting to know the glade and at times seemed to stall as all the characters were doing were just talking to each other not revealing anything new.

However, the book did depict the confusion and flashing memories a lot better than the movie.  The reveal of WICKED and what the organization stands for was much more interesting in the book than the quick show near the end, in the movie.

But due to myself neither falling in love with the book or movie nor disliking the two mediums passionately… I will choose the movie just because of the shorter consumption of time.

In the recent out pouring of Young Adult dystopian being made into movies, The Maze Runner does set itself apart due to the focus on the Maze, the thing the title is partially named after.  Added into consideration, which also sets itself apart from its peers, rather than a corrupt government trying to put down our characters… we have an organization-like entity.

The Book: 

Maze RunnerThe Maze Runner by James Dashner

Release Date:  October 2009

Synopsis:  If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

Final Comments:  Entertainment wise, I would recommend this… book or movie.

Anyone else watched this?  Read the book?  Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

