Just Finished: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Publisher:  Delacorte Press

Release Date:  May 2014

We Were Liars

Synopsis:  A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Comments:  I did enjoy this book.  However, I did not love this book.  I have never read any of E. Lockhart’s books before and this book did not pull me in a way that made me want to or need to read her other works.  I definitely loved the ending.  When it was all exposed I was like: YESSSSSS!  Why?  I’m not a sociopath or crazy psycho on the edge of a mental breakdown… it’s because it gave this book some small resemblance of a meaning – purpose.  Throughout the entire time I was reading the book I felt the book to be very, very pointless.  And the metaphoric writing to be overly pretentious.  Some descriptions were just too obscure and not fitting so it seems like an attempt to be literary and self pats on the back (or aims to be on award lists).  I.e. the moment where Cady’s dad shots her with a gun and she’s bleeding over the place and only he didn’t and this was her feelings.  Please… just shut up.  Right now.  Now.

Our protagonist is un-relatable AND un-reliable.  She whines a lot.  She complains about her headaches and as someone who suffers from migraines… I sympathized with her in that respect, but overall she was as clueless as an inanimate object.  The prose did not help her cause any.  Made her seem even more unstable and insane rather than intelligent.

It was nice to see that this crazy rich family wasn’t marked the typical evil “republicans.”  They were democrats and it just shows that hypocrisy and crazy goes both ways.  A small tidbit of detail, one that stuck out to me.

I liked the ending.  Did I mention that?  I liked that everything wasn’t perfect.  I liked that this was a train wreck and everyone is a train wreck because their situations were just train accidents waiting to happen.  Ah, the derailment of the characters’ lives… sweet, sweet ambrosia to my tongue and music to my ears.

So the prose…  Not for me but I could easily ignore that… some folks may not.

So what did I like about the book?  The ending… it redeemed it for me.   I did not weep.  I did not gush.  I did not sigh.  I did, however, think to myself:  “Well there’s finally a point to this book.  I can see it.  Ah, the pressures of a crazy patriarch.”

So overall, it was a decent read, but nothing groundbreaking.

Read-a-likes:

(Book covers are hyper-linked to their Goodreads page.)

Confessions of the Sullivan SistersConfessions of the Sullivan Sisters by Natalie Standiford

Why the Recommendation:  Rich people with secrets.  The two books features rich families, in which both families are fighting  one another to be kept on the money list.  Each also having secrets of their own that they keep – some that could potentially destroy themselves or their other family members.  Though this recommendation is written from a more campy and gossipy perspective than the deep emotional perspective of We Were Liars.

Where It BeganWhere It Began by Ann Redisch Stampler

Why the Recommendation:  Both of our narrators suffers from amnesia.  The instance that causes the amnesia is hazy and unsure and as both novels move forward – the layers are slowly peeled to reveal the lives of the two main characters and all is not what it seems.

 

Leave a Reply

