Book Spotlight: Talon by Julie Kagawa

This Book Spotlight post is featuring an upcoming book.  Projected release date is OCTOBER 2014.  Seems like October will be a poor month for me – as I also stopped requesting ARCs (kinda unfair when I don’t read them… too busy and I’ve gotten used to leisurely reading when I can).  Maybe I will borrow it from the library but there probs be a wait list and … yeah… I’ll just probably buy it.

This is a first in a series (apparently there are currently 5 (FIVE!!!!) pre-planned for this series).

Talon by Julie Kagawa

Talon

Summary:  Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon’s newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember’s bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons.

Comments:  I came across Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series way back, and  I hesitated and hemmed and hawed and a year and a half after the first book was published I finally picked up the books.  Surprisingly, I enjoyed them.  My reservations comes from the fact that the books were under the Harlequin Teen label – cheap, fluffy romantic thrills?…. Uh.  No thanks, but what a surprise.  Then I went onto her Blood of Eden series… which I still need to read books 2 and 3 (too many books!  so little time!)… and I enjoyed that one much much more.

So… I won’t be skipping this one.  It sounds so awesome.  Too bad I couldn’t think of it first and written the book… oh well, it’s in the hands of a great story teller.

I absolutely love the typography of the book cover.  Can’t decide if I like the background design.  Eh, the book cover most likely is a ‘meh’ for me.  But the written pages is a must read.

Leave a Reply

