Cover Comments: This Shattered World

Don’t judge a book by it’s cover… well, I’m doing it anyway.

I haven’t done one of this in awhile and so when I came across this cover … I had to do one.  What’s funny is… I looked up the last “Cover Comments” I did and… that last one was about this book’s predecessor:  These Broken Stars.  Oh dear heavens… get it?  GET IT?  Heaven… stars… oh never mind…

This Shattered World  by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Release Date:  December 2014

This Shattered World

Summary:  * SPOILERS*  DON’T READ IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE FIRST BOOK  *SPOILERS* (Skip to comment section.)

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

 
Cover Comments:  … If you want to read my comments about the first book’s cover read here.
 
Well, at least now the girl isn’t in some ginormous stupid dress.  The nebulous colors does indeed scream SPACE!  It’s the stiff models and the random torn open shirt of the guy.  Sure, I mean some skin teasing is a plus – I guess…, but it just seems weird on this book cover.  Maybe because I thought the love story was over in book 1 like how one of the authors suggested.  Or maybe it’s because of the girl model’s stiff pose… I mean… are these still the same two characters?  Because girl in book 1 had red hair.  This girl has brown… maybe she dyed it?  I love (sarcasm) how there’s a star glow around the guy.  Man/guy/boy = prize.  Girl is reaching for the guy as if she was reaching for a prize… and it’s weird that it seems to highlight his bare skinned area… though it’d be even weirder if it was his head… cause the religious iconology would just be awkward.  It would even be more awkward if the glowie area was around his nether region… so I guess they had to make due with they got… (How ’bout not have it at all).  Sorry as an art grad and artist… you pay attention to this stuff… and trust me, the placement is very intentional.   Anyway, so I guess for most girls and women… once you get the guy… your life is pretty much over.  I mean what else is there to live for?  Nothing.  Pssh women with life goals… what is that?
 
I still can’t get over the stiffness of the girl.
 
I just can’t anymore.  This is the reason why I do judge a book by it’s cover.  I’m sorry, typically, books with covers like these do NOT appeal to me and I regret reading them.  I did try to read the first book and got a little over 150 pages in and ended up skimming and closing the book for good.  Then I read the summary of this book and it mentions rebellion and intrigue (and from the first book!).  Surely, it jests cause that’s not the book I “read”.  It was all dopey-eyed, fickle “I like you but can’t” typical YA love angst.  Sure, it did mention a little of the world dynamics… a little.  Barely.
 
(P.S. there is nothing wrong with angsty love stories.  I enjoy them too at times.  But generally not for me.)
Well this second book is apparently a companion and it’s more world focused.  I have to say I am intrigued and maybe I will force myself to reread the first book completely to read this second one.  Maybe…
Dear goodness, I’m gonna make me hate myself.
Leave a Reply

