Just Finished: V is for Villain by Peter Moore

V is for Villain by Peter Moore

Publisher:  Disney-Hyperion

Release Date:  May 2014

Thank you Netgalley and Disney-Hyperion for giving me an ARC to read.

V is for Villain

Synopsis:  Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad’s basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn’t measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he’s happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.  But when they’re pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he’s on. And once he does, there’s no turning back.

Review:  Summer is here!  That means I’ll be very busy… which in turn means, there will be less posts updates.  I finished several books back and have tried to write up reviews but just never had the time.  Anyway onto the review, which during summer, the reviews may be short or very stream of consciousness.

So I grew up reading the X-Men.  Loved them.  I also grew up wishing mutants were real.  That I would be one of them and I was willing to carry the burden of being hated because I already felt isolated and an outsider at the time (I was about the only minority in my small Southern town – though this played a small part in my feelings – there were other reasons as well).  Basically, I hoped this book was what I was looking for.

It was and wasn’t.  It did feed my inner mutant-super-powered nerd self.  When it comes to justice being served in a book – I want it hard in the gut.  Crippling justice.  Maybe even sadistic for some people.  Because sometimes in movies and books, the end never satisfies the whole ordeal (i.e. bad guy kills millions and it ends with him going to jail… I mean really?  REALLY?  A person who has the power to kill millions (or even hundreds)… Jail is not justice because he will get out).  Sure, there’s the “we don’t kill” mentality and at least those who stand behind that mentality dishes out a beating before the turn the bad guy in.  Where am I going with this?  So we get Brad… and the well… the superheroes aren’t very heroic.  And well… they never get their fair share of beating or “justice”.  They get to kill and beat other “bad people” … and when you find the back story to these “bad people” and how the “heroes” don’t care … well let’s just say, I hoped there was a villain out there who could strip away these heroes powers (something they love to flaunt and thinks represents their whole identity… I mean that would be devastating and I think deservingly… almost into villain territory… but that’s what the title seems to implies (yeah I may be too harsh for some of you folks)… but you know what… I’m kind of tired of the jerks and numb butts who gets away with things and they are very unlikable…   So there.  I like the powered concept.  I like the story line.  But I wanted more justice in my sense… so this may not be a bad thing for many of you.

The romance in this story felt odd and off at times.  Forced in some parts and thus seemed rushed overall.  I so I didn’t know how I felt about the pairing.

The whole brother complex was interesting… I just wished the older brother could have at least been knocked out (by our narrator’s own hands) at least once… and any type of KO will count except one: telepathic KOs do not count.  He was such a tool.  But a necessary one.  Because it made me like Brad even more.

Overall, this book was for me.  Though my sadistic anti-hero side craved for more “justice.”  I enjoyed the book.  I would have love to see more Michael Bay effects mixed with some intense X-Men beginning feels.  But for now this works and I sure do hope there is a sequel.  Yeah, I did enjoy that much.

Read-a-likes:

(Picture is hyper-linked to their Goodreads’ page.)

rise_of_renegade_xThe Rise of Renegade X by Chelsea Campbell

Why the recommendation:  Both superhero/villain books.  Both also features narrators who seem to skirt the lines between “good” and “evil.”

 

Dark StarDark Star by Bethany Frenette

Why the recommendation:  Both narrators in these two books have a sense of discovery.  They take it upon themselves to find out the “secrets” of their origins.  Both are also superhero/villain focuses… though Dark Star is more mystic in nature.

HeroHero by Perry Moore

Why the Recommendation:  The names of the authors.  “P. Moore”.  I mean really?  Okay… J/K. Both are superhero in nature and both main characters struggles with living up to the names of the superhero predecessors in their family.

 

Leave a Reply

