Book Spotlight: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Free publicity!  Kinda… I’m am showcasing this book because apparently it is very popular and if you haven’t heard about the book… it’s time to crawl out from under that rock.  The ratings on Goodreads are overwhelmingly high.  Also, I was offered an e-galley of this book along with several other people – to the first 100 folks.  I received the email at 11:35 am and when I logged on to claim the book at 11: 38 am (the same day) all one hundred books were already claimed.  And I was like “4 realz?  Cripes.”

Anyway, it seems interesting and I’m going to let myself be swept away by the reviewers and author ravers about this book.

The sad part: it’s not out yet.  Yeah, I just wanted other folks to wait anxiously for it because I like to be mean.

Check it out:

The Winner’s Curse  by Marie Rutkoski

Publisher:  Farrar Straus Giroux

Release Date:  March 4th, 2014

Winner's Curse 2

Summary:  As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.  One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.  But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Additional Notes/Comments:  *Sighs*  Another book with a girl in a “pretty” dress.  I guess at least the camera angel is different and the play with the girls hand and text is also different.  If I saw this cover only, I probably would have skipped right over it… which would have happened if I was browsing at a book store.

Leave a Reply

