Bad Boys, Bad Boys … If You Like Bad Boys in Books

“Bad boys, bad boys whatcha gonna do?
Whatcha gonna do when [ I ] come for you?

When you were eight and you had bad traits
You go to school and learn the golden rule
So why are you acting like a bloody fool?
If you get hot, you must get cool…”

So for those of you who read my blog when I did book reviews… I hate the bad boy archetype.  I have yet to see a bad boy who was likable or believable and thus, their love interest counter-parts, annoyed and almost always made me see red, making me wish I could summon Armageddon for just one small moment (at least in that book’s world) so I can terrorize those annoying characters.

Two, the love interest seems to think the bad boys attitudes and mistreatment is okay… or they think they can change them, or they think they already changed the bad boy, which unbeknownst to them – they were the ones changed, not the bad boy.  Which brings me to the thought: this is how real life abusive relationships occurs.  This is how girls are trapped in these relationships.

(For some of you, this may be a broken record… but this next part isn’t!)

Now, for the kicker.  I recently had to help a young girl find books like these because she wanted to read these types of books.  She loves them.  Devours them.  Of course, I was disgusted by it.  I did not say anything, but the other parts of my face (aside from my mouth) spoke on my behalf.  The young lady gave me a sheepish look and said (paraphrased),”I know you probably think these are trashy books, but I like them.  I know the guys are horrible but a small part of me wants to believe in them.”

We had a conversation.  Conclusion, this young girl, knows and understands to some degree the dangers of the relationship these books portray, and she also thinks it’s a romantic notion, but agrees once you think/see past the surface, there is a real danger to these types of relationships.

But, for some reason she likes, enjoys, these books anyway.

Yes, there should be books with bad boys in them.  Though this is my problem:  I don’t think there is enough books out there to reflect a positive change, nature, or circumstance with this theme (truly changing for the better, in a believable manner via plot AND character).  But if conversations like the one I had could stem from these books, there is hope.  There is nothing wrong with hoping for the best from a person, real or fiction.  There is nothing wrong seeing the good in people.  Yet, rarely do these characteristics rise to the surface of these bad boys and shine.

But you can always hope for the best after you close the book.  You can pretend the love interest turns the bad boy good and decent when you are staring at the back of the book.  Since the author did not write a “complete” ending, there is a chance that these characters lives can go on and turn out for the better.

Okay, I reluctantly let these thoughts pass.  Sure, I’ll accept them as a reason why bad boys are okay.

So for those of you who love or enjoy bad boys… check out these books… though my bias is going to make me screen ones I find truly horrible.  This is a contemporary list.  (Note:  I don’t know all books, so if it’s not listed, I may not think it’s truly horrible… this is just a small list of ones I do know about.  Note 2:  I cannot make a true judgment of these books as I have not read them all, but maybe some of them do have a redeeming quality… my read list is just too big at the moment.)

Dessen, Sarah

DreamlandDreamland

Ever since she started going out with Rogerson Biscoe, Caitlin seems to have fallen into a semiconscious dreamland where nothing is quite real. Rogerson is different from anyone Caitlin has ever known. He’s magnetic. He’s compelling. He’s dangerous. Being with him makes Caitlin forget about everything else–her missing sister, her withdrawn mother, her lackluster life. But what happens when being with Rogerson becomes a larger problem than being without him?

Echols, Jennifer

Forget YouForget You

There’s a lot Zoey would like to forget. Like how her father has knocked up his twenty-four-year old girlfriend. Like Zoey’s fear that the whole town will find out about her mom’s nervous breakdown. Like darkly handsome bad boy Doug taunting her at school. Feeling like her life is about to become a complete mess, Zoey fights back the only way she knows how, using her famous attention to detail to make sure she’s the perfect daughter, the perfect student, and the perfect girlfriend to ultra-popular football player Brandon.  But then Zoey is in a car crash, and the next day there’s one thing she can’t remember at all–the entire night before. Did she go parking with Brandon, like she planned? And if so, why does it seem like Brandon is avoiding her? And why is Doug–of all people– suddenly acting as if something significant happened between the two of them? Zoey dimly remembers Doug pulling her from the wreck, but he keeps referring to what happened that night as if it was more, and it terrifies Zoey to admit how much is a blank to her. Controlled, meticulous Zoey is quickly losing her grip on the all-important details of her life–a life that seems strangely empty of Brandon, and strangely full of Doug.

Such a Rush

Such a Rush

Heaven Beach, South Carolina, is anything but, if you live at the low-rent end of town. All her life, Leah Jones has been the grown-up in her family, while her mother moves from boyfriend to boyfriend, letting any available money slip out of her hands. At school, they may diss Leah as trash, but she’s the one who negotiates with the landlord when the rent’s not paid. At fourteen, she’s the one who gets a job at the nearby airstrip.  But there’s one way Leah can escape reality. Saving every penny she can, she begs quiet Mr. Hall, who runs an aerial banner-advertising business at the airstrip and also offers flight lessons, to take her up just once. Leaving the trailer park far beneath her and swooping out over the sea is a rush greater than anything she’s ever experienced, and when Mr. Hall offers to give her cut-rate flight lessons, she feels ready to touch the sky.  By the time she’s a high school senior, Leah has become a good enough pilot that Mr. Hall offers her a job flying a banner plane. It seems like a dream come true . . . but turns out to be just as fleeting as any dream. Mr. Hall dies suddenly, leaving everything he owned in the hands of his teenage sons: golden boy Alec and adrenaline junkie Grayson. And they’re determined to keep the banner planes flying.  Though Leah has crushed on Grayson for years, she’s leery of getting involved in what now seems like a doomed business—until Grayson betrays her by digging up her most damning secret. Holding it over her head, he forces her to fly for secret reasons of his own, reasons involving Alec. Now Leah finds herself drawn into a battle between brothers—and the consequences could be deadly.

Elkeles, Simone

Perfect ChemistryRules of AttractionChain ReactionPerfect Chemistry:  Perfect Chemistry (book 1); Rules of Attraction (book 3); Chain Reaction (book 3)

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created ‘perfect’ life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for: her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect.   Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

Glines, Abbi

Vincent BoysVincent BrothersThe Vincent Boys:  The Vincent Boys (book 1); The Vincent Brothers (book 2); My Vincent Boys (book 3)

Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.  Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.  Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist…

Breathe

Because of Low

While It LastsJust For Now

 

 

 

 

Sometimes It LastsMisbehavingSea Breeze:  Breathe (book 1); Because of Low (book 2); While It Lasts (book 3); Just For Now (book 4); Sometimes It Lasts (book 5); Misbehaving (book 6)

(Note:  This Series seems more like a companion series where novels takes place in same setting but with different main characters.)

Sadie White’s summer job isn’t going to be on the beach life-guarding or working at rental booths like most kids her age. With her single mother’s increasing pregnancy and refusal to work, Sadie has to take over her mother’s job as a domestic servant for one of the wealthy summer families on a nearby island.  When the family arrives at their summer getaway, Sadie is surprised to learn that the owner of the house is Jax Stone, one of the hottest teen rockers in the world. If Sadie hadn’t spent her life raising her mother and taking care of the house she might have been normal enough to be excited about working for a rock star.  Even though Sadie isn’t impressed by Jax’s fame, he is drawn to her. Everything about Sadie fascinates Jax but he fights his attraction. Relationships never work in his world and as badly as he wants Sadie, he believes she deserves more. By the end of the summer, Jax discovers he can’t breathe without Sadie.

Keplinger, Kody

Duff

The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.  But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.  Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

McGarry, Katie

Pushing the LimitsDare You ToCrash Into YouPushing the Limits:  Pushing the Limit  (book 1); Dare You To  (book 2); Crash Into You (book 3) Take Me On (book 4)

(Note:  This Series seems more like a companion series where novels takes place in same setting but with different main characters.)

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with freaky scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.  But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.  Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

Webber, Tamara

Easy

Easy

He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior…  The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he’d worked so hard to overcome, and the future she’d put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.  Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth—and find the unexpected power of  love.  A groundbreaking novel in the New Adult genre, Easy faces one girl’s struggle to regain the trust she’s lost, find the inner strength to fight back against an attacker, and accept the peace she finds in the arms of a secretive boy.

All of these books you will find in this blog’s genre category of Contemporary Romance.   Check out the category page for more romance novels!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s