Just Finished: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Release Date:  February 2013

Eleanor and Park

Summary:  Half-Korean sophomore Park Sheridan is getting through high school by lying low, listening to the Smiths (it’s 1986), reading Alan Moore’s Watchmen comics, never raising his hand in class, and avoiding the kids he grew up with. Then new girl Eleanor gets on the bus. Tall, with bright red hair and a dress code all her own, she’s an instant target. Too nice not to let her sit next to him, Park is alternately resentful and guilty for not being kinder to her. When he realizes she’s reading his comics over his shoulder, a silent friendship is born. And slowly, tantalizingly, something more…  [Then] the situation turns dangerous…

(The Goodreads summary absolutely sucks.  So this summary is pulled from Publisher’s Weekly… and I made a few minor adjustments.)

Notes:  Contemporary novel set in the 80’s.  A book for the “nerd.”  Comic books, punk rock… oh yeah.  I really enjoyed this book, which surprised me.  The author’s name = AWESOME.

Check it out!  Fan art!  This is way cool and this amaze-balls person imagined both Eleanor and Park like me!

Eleanor and Park Fan Art

by Simini Blocker

P.S.

I’ve changed the name of the blog.  Thus some of the links may not work.  I am fixing them as fast as I can.  Why the name change?  Well, because I’m no longer doing book reviews and is just cataloging books, I figured the new name would be better suited for the site.  Yes, I always need new books to add to the genre lists so feel free to leave a message and I’ll add the books as I go.  I always need your help.

Leave a Reply

