Cover Comments: These Broken Stars

Book covers… you either love them or hate them.  We hear the saying, “don’t judge a book by its cover,” but we all do.  I found a book cover I would like to talk about:

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Release Date:  December 2013

These Broken Stars

Summary:  It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.  Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.  Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?  Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.  So for these post, I figured I put a larger preview photo into the post for a better view.  If you click on picture you’ll get even a bigger image.

Cover Comments:  …

So…

I think this is one of those I might be a minority in… probably because I’m a guy.  But that huge dress is … ri – FREAKING -diculous…. especially in a book about space.  What?  Is this bedsheets in space?  Space – where you dry your laundry.  Better yet… Silk, Made in Space.  I can buy a Victorian era space novel, … actually that idea sounds kinda cool…. someone should write a book about that, but this cover just doesn’t do it for me.  There has been a lot of covers in the past years or so featuring girls with dresses… so it’s an obvious good marketing ploy… in fact, I’ve seen readers gush about this cover because of the dress.

But seriously?  That dress in space?  Yeah, I get it… so she’s rich.  But when I think rich in terms of an era of space travel… I don’t think big dresses… in fact, wouldn’t big dresses be a disaster in space.  They can get sucked up through things… engines, exhaust systems; it’ll get in the way of just walking around, around control panels, tiny shafts, and narrow walkways and elevators…. there’s only so much room on a ship.  If the hull of your ship ever breaks and your in that room, your fat big dress will kill you…. all that extra fabric being sucked up by the vacuum.  I can just picture it…. the girl screaming and struggling hands reaching out but her damn dress… screws her over and … and then all you can see is her lifeless form floating by but all you can see is a big sheet of cloth swirling about in space, fluttering in a sea of stars.

Yep, it could be that I’m a guy.  Or it could be that I’m practical.  Or better yet, maybe it’s because I also live in tornado alley.  But yeah… that cover… nope doesn’t do it for me.

Though I do like the dude there on the cover.  He’s good looking and actually clothed decently (no skin tight clothing or shirtless-ness).

What about you?  Do you like the cover?  Dislike?  Why?

The story though…. sounds intriguing and different.  It has piped my interest, I shall try and find an ARC.   If one shouldn’t come across my way, I will for sure have to find an actual copy when it comes out.

One response to “Cover Comments: These Broken Stars

  1. Ahahaha! That dress definitely looks ridiculous! It looks like she’s drowning in silk. It does add a more feminine effect to her appearance though. And you’re right, it goes a long with the ‘girl in the pretty dress’ covers. But I also agree that it is completely impractical to the story. Unless at some point the girl is drowning in silk.

    I like the guy as well, he looks very Danny-Zuko-in-Grease like and I like that haha. I guess he also reminds me of a guy riding a motorbike. I dunno. Guys in black clothes just screams ‘bad-ass’, or ‘well-dressed-bad-ass’.

    I kind of like the cover because it’s nice to look at, I like the font of the title, I like the starry background. I don’t like the dress but I do like the girls fiery red hair and how they’re trying to reach each other.

    I guess I don’t love nor hate this cover. But it doesn’t hurt the eyes!

    I’ve been trying to figure out if this is a book I would enjoy reading. I love sci fi and I love space, but the summary still hasn’t sold me. I think I probably will give it a go if the reviews are good.

Leave a Reply

