Just Finished: The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley

The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley

Publisher:  William Morrow/Greenwillow (original publisher)

Release Date: October 1982

Blue Sword

Summary:  Harry Crewe grew up a tomboy in forests, until her brother joined the Homelanders guarding the far desert reaches. Now an orphan, she joins him. Only a few months later, asking for military aid against advancing Northeners, comes Corlath, the Hillfolk King. After exchanging a single glance, his inner magic compels him to kidnap her, without knowing why. She does not know the Hillfolk language or why she has been chosen.  Renamed Hari, she sees visions, and brings one to all, of the Golden Age legendary Dragon-Killer Queen Aerin, who smiles upon her. Hari is trained in the arts of war until she is a match for any of the elite royal guard, and carries Aerin’s famed Blue Sword. Does she have the courage to accept her true fate?

Notes:  High fantasy; almost epic high fantasy but not quite.  There is a bit of Old Middle Eastern (think 1001 Nights) flavoring in this novel and it seems to be the start of a series.  The writing style is a bit queer (read : not my tastes at all) and I pegged it as being a book from the 80s, but I liked books from that “era” (Peirs Anthony, Terry Brooks & Anne McCaffrey etc.) and considering this book was in the Fantasy genre I figured heh why not, but I guess not.  There is a lot of summary and a lot of detailed info spaces about a person’s character that emulates older works like Jane Austen. 

I know… there are a lot of books being published that one can hardly ever read them all.  Then there are already previously published books… then we’re just overwhelmed.  I try to read an “old” book every once in awhile and this was my choice recently.

2 responses to “Just Finished: The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley

  1. I am very peculiar about my high fantasy (picky doesn’t do my fickleness justice), but I can see its appeal. I love books people are able to associate with their childhood. Well the idea, not necessarily the book (subjective opinions and all 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

