Just Finished: The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress

Since I’m not doing reviews anymore, I thought I can still share with you what I have completed reading.  I just finished this one yesterday:

Friday Society by Adrienne Kress

Publisher:  Dial

Release Date:  December 2012

Friday Society

Summary:  Set in turn of the century London, The Friday Society follows the stories of three very intelligent and talented young women, all of whom are assistants to powerful men: Cora, lab assistant; Michiko, Japanese fight assistant; and Nellie, magician’s assistant. The three young women’s lives become inexorably intertwined after a chance meeting at a ball that ends with the discovery of a murdered mystery man.  It’s up to these three, in their own charming but bold way, to solve the murder–and the crimes they believe may be connected to it–without calling too much attention to themselves.

Notes:  It doesn’t take itself seriously, in the good way.  It’s not exactly hardcore steampunk for hard fans of steampunk.  Take what you will with that.

I debated writing this or not but I will since it irks me too much.  The Japanese name marker: kun, is not used for those of lesser “value” but of equal value.  So the explanation in this book is wrong, to some degree as it does this strange self correction that isn’t really a self correction…  Two, the word dead in Japanese is not one syllable like English so that one descriptor when describing dead as one syllable when Michiko was clearly portrayed as speaking Japanese is also wrong.  That is all.

Entertaining, light, fun, on a not so serious day or mood.

3 responses to “Just Finished: The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress

  1. this book seems to crop up on random blogs I’m following and I’m debating whether I should read it. I mean it looks intriguing enough for me to pick it up…will I finish it that’s the million dollar question. How was your read through it?

    • I read it in one sitting. It doesn’t take itself seriously at all. The dialogue and the plot reveal and the whole thing about it is done in that fashion where it makes it very obvious it isn’t too serious. I mean the bad guy at the end actually goes through a whole villian monologue of how smart and awesome of a bad person the person is. So the delivery is done in a campy sort of way. There were several chapters whose first sentence was something along the lines of: And then there was an explosion. So if you want a book that deals takes it self seriously or in a mood for a very detailed steampunk book I wouldn’t recommend it if you aren’t in the right mood. This is pure fluff in the fun adventurous way. So … you know yourself more than I do?

Leave a Reply

