Want To Read!: Warm Bodies

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Publisher:  Atris (US)

Release Date: April 2011 (First published October 2010 in the UK by Vintage)

US Cover

US Cover

UK Cover

UK Cover

I want to read this book. Only because I just saw the movie trailer and didn’t realize it was a book until I saw the movie poster and read it was based off a book! It looks and seems funny. I hate zombies but I’m willing to give this a try. Maybe it’ll help me overcome my discrimination of zombies.

Synopsis:  R is a young man with an existential crisis–he is a zombie. He shuffles through an America destroyed by war, social collapse, and the mindless hunger of his undead comrades, but he craves something more than blood and brains. He can speak just a few grunted syllables, but his inner life is deep, full of wonder and longing. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he has dreams.  After experiencing a teenage boy’s memories while consuming his brain, R makes an unexpected choice that begins a tense, awkward, and strangely sweet relationship with the victim’s human girlfriend. Julie is a blast of color in the otherwise dreary and gray landscape that surrounds R. His decision to protect her will transform not only R, but his fellow Dead, and perhaps their whole lifeless world.

Warm Bodies Movies

Movie Posters

If you haven’t seen the trailer, here:

What do you think of the book/movie?  Have you read the book?

9 responses to “Want To Read!: Warm Bodies

  1. Ohh so I had heard of this book before but I had no interest in reading it. But now after seeing the trailer I really want to give the book a go. The movie looks interesting and pretty funny too which makes it more interesting I think!

  2. I really, really, REALLY wanted movie R to retain the suit and red tie from the book. But I guess a red jacket is better?

    I found the book uneventful. And didn’t believe the romance for a second. BUT I liked the prose (even though he sounds too eloquent for a zombie without memories.) It was very surprising for a zombie book to be poetic. I loved it. And that ending? cheesy. seriously? you just get a second chance at life like that? O_O

    But the movie looks like a lot more fun than its novel counterpart. I still want to see it.

    • Yeah, from what I gathered from reviews, the book isn’t so great, but I have to see the movie, it just looks fun. But I’m going have to read the book first… just so I can do a blog post to compare the two… because I don’t have many blog ideas…haha

      • And here I thought you read it already and you were recommending it from your headline.

        *pat pat* You can probably do that for a lot of other movie adaptations..The Great Gatsby, Beautiful Creatures, City of Bones…

      • Beautiful Creature?! Didn’t know about that one, so apparently I’ve been in the dark… but I wasn’t a fan of the books to begin with. I enjoyed the first book (3.5ish) and then the others kinda went downhill. Knew about Gatsby… City of Bones … yeah cast was all wrong for me, plus I’m very bias towards Claire in a not very good way. I try to remove author from work but cannot in her case and add in the fact that her ideas and plot tensions are just recycled… can’t do it. Well tomorrow I guess I will do a post about upcoming book movies. That way I’ll be educating myself and maybe others who don’t know. Thanks for leaving that comment, you have opened my eyes! Haha.

  3. I didn’t read the books yet. But I DID request it from the library…except they have to ship it over from a neighboring island (I live in Hawaii) so I don’t expect it to be in my hands any time soon. And probably not before school starts…and then I won’t have time to read it anyway. *sigh*

    I didn’t read City of Bones yet. Borrowed it. School started. No time. Plus, a book blogger friend told me I would probably sneer at it and rip it apart.

    Does your bias have anything to do with fanfiction?

      • I think I just confused myself answering this question on one of your posts… oh wells… ha.

        But yes, I did not like her response to the whole thing. It put a very sour taste in my mouth. Two, her books are getting very repetitive in character and some underlying themes so another sour note.

        Thanks to you I have changed the post header and changed the category to “Want To Read” maybe that will help lessen the confusion… I should have though it through better – thanks!

Leave a Reply

