Feature and Follow # 106

Feature and Follow is a meme hosted by two lovely book reviewers Alison @ Alison Can Read and Parajunkee @ Parajunkee’s View.

Old followers… yes I know I said I don’t really do memes, but this one is somewhat different.  How different?  Well, I don’t think I’ve completely understood how it works… so I’m just going to pray that I did it right.   For more information, Alison has a great page explaining the meme on this page.

Here are the rules copy/lifted/ and pasted from Alison’s blog:

RULES To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

  1. (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
  2. (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
  3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
  4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
  5. If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
  6. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  7. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
  8. If you’re new to the follow friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

___________________________________

If you are a new follower, you can follow me via email (if you follow me via email before July 28, 2012 you’ll be enter in my first Follower Giveaway) in the email submission box to the right of the screen.  Or you can follow me via RSS Feed or Linky.  New followers please tell me you’re a new follower in the comments section so I can follow you back.  Thanks.

___________________________________

I’m just going to link the list directly from Alison’s blog as wordpress doesn’t support javascript.  It’s linked on the Follow Feature pitcure, so just click on that!  I don’t know if I’m supposed to answer all the questions or not but I’ll do it anyway just to be sure.

1. When did you start blogging?
Well this blog was started about a year and a half ago and I posted about three times in two weeks and quit.  I re-picked up this blog (amazed I still remembered the random password) and restarted this blog and truly begin blogging in January of this year (2012) as a New Year’s resolution.  I think I’m doing great so far with 73 book reviews and counting.  😀

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

I like creating stuff and with WordPress.com it gives me the illusion of me building an actual site.  That in of itself is rewarding as weird as it sounds, because truth be told I will read as much as do regardless of blog or not.  Of course, meeting all the different folks and having someone comment or like your posts feels good.

3. What is your favorite book(s)?

I don’t have favorite books.  I rarely reread books.  I do reread passages in certain books.  What books?  Any books ranks 4 or above in this blog would qualify.

4. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

Getting access to ARCs.  Which is a double edged sword.  Honestly, I would still get ARCs because of my job but blogging was the catalsyt for me putting in effort to get ARCs.  I have so many books I need to read that aren’t ARCs but I guess I just like to overwhelm myself.

Featured question: Christmas in July! Someone gives you a gift card for two books (whatever that costs). What two books will you buy?

I would have said Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff if it was a few weeks ago but I already preordered it.  So I’ll go with these two:

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

In a land where magic has been forgotten but peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest is simmering. Three kingdoms grapple for power—brutally transforming their subjects’ lives in the process. Amidst betrayals, bargains, and battles, four young people find their fates forever intertwined:

Cleo: A princess raised in luxury must embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long thought extinct.

Jonas: Enraged at injustice, a rebel lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Lucia: A girl adopted at birth into a royal family discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Magnus: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, a firstborn son begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword…

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed “Daughter of Smoke and Bone,” Karou must come to terms with who and what she is, and how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, mysteries and secrets, new characters and old favorites, Days of Blood and Starlight brings the richness, color and intensity of the first book to a brand new canvas.

This is a Blog Hop!


2 responses to “Feature and Follow # 106

  1. I am coming by for the FF (only the feature blog answered all those questions, ours was the one what we would buy if we were to pick 2 books for Christmas in July, its cool, its confusing sometimes.
    Here is my post
    New follower too, LInky
    Follow Friday Hop

Leave a Reply

