Forget Me Not #1: A Wizard of Earthsea

Forget Me Not.

There are so many books being published that I feel like I need a full time job to read, just so I can read them all.  Then you think about books that have already been published and well… it’s overwhelming.  There are books that have been published years ago that I believe are great books that need to be read.  There are days when people ask me for a recommendation and I say, “A Wizard of Earthsea,” and people give me blank looks.

So the purpose of Forget Me Not posts are books that have been published more than 5 years ago, that I feel should be read or are great reads.  In an era, where Young Adult books are popping out like crazy mice or bunnies, I have a small ounce of regret of folks passing up on great books from the past.  Even now, many book bloggers posts blogs about “new” books only.  Books only published within the year or past year.  Rarely do I see a book with a first published date that’s older than 5 years old.  Don’t misunderstand… I’m not saying there aren’t.  But look through the various blogs… many are about “new” books… or their posts are filled with “new” books.  Featured books are “new.”  Wanted books are “new.”

There are great books from the past that are awesome that should be read.  You have an “older” book that you think is great?  Recommend it please!  Forget them not!  They deserve a reading too!

I was going to say this will be a meme “Froget-Me-Not Fridays,” but the reality is … I’m not much a meme-er.  I do things when I feel like it.  I want to say focused on books reviews.  So, with that said, please if you have an old book to share, do.  You can borrow my title.  Create your own, sure.  Let’s share these great treasures from oh so long ago (but not really, though in some cases they may be).

I will not include books part of a series, whose most recent book was published within the past 5 years.  For example, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was first published in 1997.  So technically, it qualifies for Forget Me Not (not that Harry Potter needs the stage… it’s a household name)… but the last book The Deathly Hollows was first published in 2007, thus it’s within the 5 year frame and so as a series they are no longer qualified.

So, here’s my first Forget Me Not:

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin

Release Date:  April 1968 (Yes, that’s right SIXTY EIGHT)

That’s not the original cover.  FYI.  😛

Synopsis: Ged was the greatest sorcerer in all Earthsea, but once he was called Sparrowhawk, a reckless youth, hungry for power and knowledge, who tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an  ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance.

My two cents:  Ursula K. Le Guin is toted as the first female to venture into the fantasy genre.  Her books are loved by many.  Many younger folks (middle school and younger) today have no inkling of an idea who she is or her books (as do some adults).  Published in an era before there was a “young adult” genre category (YA is a fairly new “genre” category and very much a marketing ploy developed by the publishing industry), her books were loved by readers both young and old.

Leave a Reply

