Snow White and the Huntsman

Snow White and the Huntsman

Studio:  Universal Studios

Release Date: June 2012

Rating: 3/5

Alright!  It’s Movie Monday time.  A weekly meme started by yours truly… okay so it’s not Monday and it’s not a real meme.  But this is a real review.  Yes, I know it’s not a book.  When I first saw the trailer for this movie almost a year and a half ago I squealed like a piglet being chased by a wolf but in glee not terror.  I’ve always disliked the cheery flowery princess that is the Disney version and I dislike many of Disney older stuff with the exception of Cinderella.  But anyway the trailer looked AH MAH ZING!  If you have not seen the movie or trailer check it out here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-UMNSVX7_I

So yeah I was excited.  So today, I ventured out and bookmarked the book I was reading (Daughter of Smoke and Bones – which should be up very soon) and went and watched this movie with my family.  And was it like I thought?!?!?!?  NO!  It was … worst.  It’s not because I have (or had) a high expectation, it’s because the movie really was just mediocre-ly put together.  My parents enjoyed it.  My mom liked it moreso than enjoyed.  I just thought: “Meh.”  Why?  The pacing was horrible.  It was okay for about 15 minutes or so and then everything was just rushed to the end.  Strange though cause the movie was a little over two hours.  They rushed the pacing… people came and went within fives minutes of showtime.  Character development was not bad but not good either.  If this movie was a book it would have scored low (2 or lower) because of this lack of attachment to the characters, but the thing that redeemed the movie was the visuals and visual effects.  They were very cool and not overly extravagant.  I loved the scene with the super awesome creature (you’ll know who/what if you choose to watch this movie).

The plot.  Was good.  Enticing and very relevant.  The portrayal and execution, not so much.  The Evil Queen’s story was compelling…. too bad they spent all two minutes explaining everything and it was via glimpses of flashbacks and inserted dialogue.  She could have been an awesome villain because her back ground was very human only they (the people who wrote the script) failed to make her human with her dialogue and the director must had a hard time making the humanity reality though I must say half of the blame would be the director’s also.  Again, it was because everything was so rushed.

I loved Charlize Theron and I like Chris Hemsworth. Kirsten Stewart…. thankfully she doesn’t talk much in the movie (though she does well to give her credit…. it’s just when she opens her mouth do I wince a little inside… though again there are worst people out there than her) but even so the chemistry between the cast members and their characters were very weak. Time frame wasn’t an issue. They had ample time just the script was too bad that it brought even the acting down.

There were too many noticeable holes for me.  There weren’t enough visual effects or other intrigue – strong character portrayed by a great actor (not that it’s any of the actors in this movie’s fault…. I really do blame the script)- for me to ignore the loop holes.  Such as near the last third of the movie, how does Snow White do what she does?  I mean really?  I don’t know.  Two guys kiss her and then bam…she’s… well you’ll see what I mean.  And the movie fails to give any explanation of any sort.  It’s totally ignored.  I get it.  This is a fairy tale… kids makes exceptions for the holey-ist of swiss cheese holes as long as they get to hear the story, but this movie isn’t for kids.  It’s targeting an older audience.  We deserve some sort of explanation even if it’s a weak one.  We got NONE.  Yes, I’m one of those people willing to forgive loop holes if I’m very visually stimulated.  I guess it’s the nerd and guy in me.

Overall, the movie served its purpose.  Retold a fairy tale most of us are familiar with.  But the movie failed to bring attachment to the characters.  Some moments seemed like it was trying too hard to be sentimental only because the build up of character and tension did not match the moment.  Now, honestly if there were more explosions and fighting and sorcery I would have liked it more.  I admit it.  I’m a visual effects geek.  But this movie was trying to pull the story along by its story and unfortunately, it didn’t pull hard enough and the string holding the movie together seemed to be made of the wrong material.

Verdict:  If you really really really want to go watch it go ahead.  It wasn’t a horrible movie.  If you’re looking for a really good story and great movie… uh… uh… I heard Avengers was really good.  If you haven’t seen that I’d go watch that.

7 responses to “Snow White and the Huntsman

  1. Too bad I only read this after I went and watched the movie…
    I saw the movie last week, got dragged along with my friends for a movie night. I too, had high hopes for it after watching the trailer, and the actress for the Evil Queen was supposed to be very good. Yea, after I watched, she was still the best actress in the movie, but I was so disappointed with the whole thing! My best friend and I was sitting there, laughing hardcore at the cheesy lies and cliche scene. We even predicted what was going to happen before it happened and what would be the perfect ending etc. It was hilarious. That was the best of the night actually, and not the movie itself. But hard to expect anything much good with Kristin Stewart as the main actress… *cough Twilight series*

    • Yeah Kristen Stewart got lucky somewhere along the way to get where she is… and she even states this… At least you had your friends to entertain you…. my family wouldn’t understand mocking a movie. My parents especially… maybe it’s a cultural thing too. They liked the movie.

      • If I had gone with my parents, my Dad probably would have fallen asleep after the first few scenes and then my Mum would be laughing at me after the movie for coming to watch it at all. Guess that’s just different families then haha. Where are you from? You don’t have to tell me if you don’t want to, just curious.

      • Well it’s actually really pretty here and not so many people. I love the outdoors and I don’t like crowds XD

Leave a Reply

